Frequently Asked Questions

Generelle Fragen

Q: Mit welchem Betriebssystem ist HMONITOR kompatibel?

Hmonitor wurde einst für Windows NT programmiert. Mittlerweile unterstützt es auch Windows 9x Systeme: Windows 95/98/ME/NT/2000/XP.

Q: HMONITOR funktioniert auf meinem PC nicht. Alle Werte sind 'XX'. Wieso?

Hmonitor liest die Daten von einigen optionalen Chips aus, den "Sensoren". Die meisten modernen Mainboards haben solche Sensoren installiert. Falls ihr Board solche Sensoren nicht hat, so ist Hmonitor für Sie nutzlos. Es gibt einige Chips, die noch nicht unterstützt werden. Außerdem haben einige Mainboards nur M/b Sensoren installiert, andere haben nur CPU Temperatur Sensoren.

Q: Wie kann ich herausfinden, welche Sensoren auf meinem Mainboard installiert sind?

Normalerweise steht dies im Benutzerhandbuch des Mainboards. Die Daten können im Bios angezeigt werden. Es gibt aber einige bekannte Ausnahmen: Intel AL440LX/SE440BX Boards haben optional den LM79 Sensor installiert, jedoch keine Bios-Anzeige dafür. Des Weiteren haben Mainboards, welche eine optionale onboard-Soundkarte haben, keine Sensoren installiert. Des Öfteren enthalten Boards mit Sensoren die Intel LDCM Software.

Q: Mit welchen Sensor-Chips ist Hmonitor kompatibel?

Hier stehen einige Hersteller und Modelle von Sensoren, die es aktuell auf dem Markt gibt. Hmonitor unterstützt die meisten gängigen Chips.:

National semiconductor
LM75CPU temp. sensor
LM78System sensor. Monitors 3 fans, 7 voltages and one temp.
LM79Similar to LM78
LM80Similar to LM78, but monitors only two fans, 6 voltages and one temp.
LM81Similar to LM78, but monitors only two fans, 6 voltages and one temp.
LM82Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
LM83Monitors up to 3 temperatures from remote sensors
LM84Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
LM85System sensor. Monitors 4 fans (can control 3 fans speed), 5 voltages and 3 temp. (Two from external diode sensors)
LM86Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
LM87Similar to W83782D, monitors 2 fans, 8 voltages and 3 temp.
LM89Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
LM90Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
LM92Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
Winbond
W83781DLike LM78, but monitors up to 3 temps with external thermistors.
W83782DSystem sensor. Monitors 3 fans, 9 voltages and 3 temp from ext. sensors.
W83783SLike LM80, but monitors up to 3 temps with external thermistors.
W83784rSystem sensor. Monitors 3 fans, 9 voltages and 3 temp from ext. sensors.
W83785rSystem sensor. Monitors 3 fans, 9 voltages and 3 temp from ext. sensors.
W83791DSystem sensor. Monitors 3 fans, 9 voltages and 3 temp from ext. sensors.
W83627HFSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions, similar to W83782D.
W83627THFSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions, similar to W83782D.
W83637HFSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions, similar to W83782D.
W83697HFSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions, similar to W83782D.
AS99127FAsus's own W83782d analogue.
ASB100Asus's own W83783s analogue.
ASB200 (Mozart-2)Asus's own W83791d analogue.
Genesys Logic
GL518SMCapable to monitor 2 fans, one voltage and one temp.
GL520SMCapable to monitor 2 fans, four voltages and two temp.
GL523SMTemperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
GL525SMSimilar to W83782D, monitors 3 fans, 6 voltages and three temp.
Silicon Integrated Systems
SIS5595This chip has builtin sensor, monitors 2 fans, 4 voltages and one internal (not CPU!) temp.
Maxim
MAX1617Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1618Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1619Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1668Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1669Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1805Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
MAX1989Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
Analog Devices
ADM9240LM78 analogue. Capable to monitor 2 fans, 6 voltages and one temp.
ADM1021Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
ADM1022GL520SM analogue. Capable to monitor 2 fans, 4 voltages and two temps.
ADM1024GL520SM analogue. Capable to monitor 2 fans, 4 voltages and two temps.
ADM1025Cheap ADM1024 analogue, without fan monitoring capabilities
ADM1026System sensor. Monitors 5 voltages and 3 temp. (Two from external diode sensors)
ADM1027System sensor. Monitors 4 fans (can control 3 fans speed), 5 voltages and 3 temp. (Two from external diode sensors)
ADM1028System sensor. Capable to monitor 2 fans, 4 voltages and two temps.
ADM1030Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote thermodiode sensor
ADM9240system hardware monitor providing measurement of up to four power supplies and two processor core voltages, plus temperature, two fan speeds and chassis intrusion.
Dallas Semiconductor
DS1780LM78 analogue. Capable to monitor 2 fans, 6 voltages and one temp.
DS75LM75 analogue. CPU temp. sensor
Texas Instruments
THMC10Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures: local/remote
THMC50Temperature monitor for 2 temperatures only
Integrated Technology Express, Inc.
IT8693FSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions. Monitors 3 fans, 8 voltages and 3 temp. from ext. sensors.
IT8705FSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions. Monitors 3 fans, 8 voltages and 3 temp. from ext. sensors.
IT8712FSuper I/O chip with monitoring functions. Monitors 3 fans, 8 voltages and 3 temp. from ext. sensors.
IT8700FSuper I/O chip with fan monitoring functions. Monitors up to 3 fans.
IT8702FSuper I/O chip with fan monitoring functions. Monitors up to 3 fans.

Einige Chips benötigen eine spezielle Anpassung für Hmonitor um von ihnen Daten auslesen zu können. Zuerst müssen nationale LM80 Chips explizit in den Einstellungen von Hmonitor eingestellt werden. Schauen sie in der Mainboards Liste nach, um mehr Informationen über die Mainboards zu erhalten.

Temperaturbezogene Fragen

Q: Ich kann nur die erste Temperatur(M/B) sehen. Wieso?

Viele Boards auf dem Markt sind nur in der Lage einen Temperaturwert anzuzeigen. Weiterhin benutzen einige Mainboard-Produzenten keine standardmäßigen Sensoren-Adressenzuweisungen. Sie können die richtigen Adressierungen im Einstellungsfenster von Hmonitor setzen. Besuchen Sie die Mainboard liste für mehr Informationen über nicht empfohlene Boards.

Festplattenbezogene Fragen

Q: Nach dem Start von Hmonitor kann ich das XP Festplatten-Management nicht nutzen. In den Admin-tools sind alle IDE-Festplatten nicht gelistet. Warum?

Die neuesten Releases von Hmonitor sind in der Lage die Festplattentemperaturen über die S.M.A.R.T. Attribute darzustellen. Diese Einstellung ist nach der Installation standardmäßig aktiviert und benötigt den Monopolzugriff zu den Laufwerken. Das Problem wurde in der 4.1.2.3 Release gelöst.

Kühlerbezogene Fragen

Q: Die RPM Anzeigen von allen drei Lüftern stehen auf 'xxxx'. Wieso?

Die Kühler müssen die Fähigkeit haben, die Daten zu lesen - sogenannte "3-wired" oder "smart" Kühler. Auf Pentium II Boards hat der CPU-Kühler normalerweise diese Option. Weiterhin müssen die Kühler auch in entsprechende Sockets gesteckt werden, die einen Sensorchip für diese Informationen haben. Nicht alle Mainboards können die Daten von allen 3 Kühlern lesen, z.B. Genesys GL518 kann die Daten von nur 2 Kühlern entnehmen.

Q: Ich habe einen neuen Sensor Chip mit 'sense wire' gekauft,  Hmonitor zeigt es jedoch nicht an. Wieso?

Es existieren Probleme mit LM78/79 Sensorenchips. Falls sie einen langsamen Kühler haben (ca. 2500 RPM) sollten sie diese in den ersten oder zweiten Kühleranschluss stecken, ansonsten können die RPM Daten nicht ausgelesen werden. Sie müssen nur die Anschlusstecker des Gehäusekühlers und des CPU-Kühlers austauschen, danach sollte es funktionieren..

Spannungsbezogene Fragen

Q: Die meisten Spannungsangaben sind rot markiert und haben kritische Werte. Wieso?

Leider bauen viele Hersteller ihre Boards nicht ensprechend den standardisierten Sensorspezifikationen. Einer dieser Hersteller ist QDI. Hmonitor hat Optionen um um auf einigen Boards die ausgelesenen Werte zu korrigieren. Konsultieren sie die Mainboard Liste für mehr Informationen über nicht unterstützte Mainboards. In allen anderen Fällen könne sie einfach den Spannungs Panel schließen, indem sie auf das rote Hmonitor Logo in der oberen rechten Ecke des Hmonitor Fenster klicken und die Spannungen ausstellen.

Q: Was heißt Vcore2 für Einzelprozessorensysteme?

Vcore2 kann ebenfalls wie bei einer 2.ten CPU eingestellt werden, zum Beispiel 1.5V für Pentium-II GTL BUS, 2.5V für den 'clock generator', etc.. Diese Einstellung hängt von der Bauweise Ihres Mainboards ab. Sie müssen möglicherweise alle Normalwerte im Optionenfenster einstellen.

Q: Die Spannungen scheinen korrekt zu sein, jedoch sind Vcore und/oder VIO Spannungswerte rot markiert. Wie kann ich dies korrigieren?

Verschiede CPU,- und Mainboard-Modelle benötigen verschiede Spannungen. So arbeiten zum Beispiel Pentium II's mit 2.0V Spannung, wobei ein P5 2.8-3.3V benötigt. Alles was sie tun müssen ist in das Optionenfenster zu gehen, und dort die Normalspannung für Vcore und, wenn möglich, für die VIO Spannung einstellen. VIO kann bei einigen Mainboardmodellen von 3.3 bis zu 3.6 v variieren.

Ereignis-Management

Ich bin um mein PC-System sehr besorgt. Wie kann ich Windows beenden, wenn ein Fehler auftritt?

Hmonitor hat verschiede Optionen um den Benutzer über verschiedene Ereignisse zu informieren, und kann auch externe Anwendungen starten, falls ein Fehler auftritt. Wenn sie z.B. möchten, dass Windows herunterfährt, sobald der CPU-Lüfter anhält oder die CPU-Temperatur in den roten Bereicht gelangt, können sie shutdown.bat fürWindows95/98 erstellen, welche nur eine Zeile enthält:

für Windows 95/98/ME: RUNDLL32.EXE User,ExitWindows
für Windows XP/2003:shutdown.exe -s -t 0

Danach stellen sie den Namen der shutdown.bat bei den gewünschten Ereignissen ein. Sie können für diesen Zweck jedoch auch das Freewareprogramm von Jorgen Bosman benutzen, welches z.B. Ausschalten unterstützt. Download unter: hier.

Temperaturkontrolle (PRO LIZENZ BENÖTIGT!)

Q: Was bewirkt 'Halt'?

Normalerweise ist die CPU nicht immer aktiv. Der Prozessor verbringt viel Zeit um z.B. auf Maus,- oder Tastatureingaben, bzw. das CD-Rom Laufwerk zu warten. Es wäre natürlich am logischsten in dieser Zeit einfach die CPU auszuschalten. Genau dies bewirken die HLT Maschinenanweisungen. Sobald die CPU eine HLT Anweisung erhält, wird die CPU aussgeschaltet und geht in den Standby-Modus über, bis eine Unterbrechung auftritt.
Moderne Betriebssysteme wie Linux oder Windows NT führen die HLT Anweisungen in einem 'Idle' Threat aus (Leerlaufprozess). Dieser Thread bringt die CPU zum Leerlauf, wenn keine Operationen anstehen. Dafür ist keine Ausführungszeit vonnöten und die CPU läuft nicht langsamer. Seitdem die CPU Power-Down von spezifischen Teilen der Hardware übernimmt, beeinträchtigt dies die Performanz nicht mehr. Somit ist keine Softwareanweisung nötig um die ausgeschalteten Teile zu reaktivieren. Unglücklicherweise unterstützt Windows 95 HLT nicht. Um dies zu ändern, bietet "Hmonitor" einen Leerlaufprozess für Windows 95/98.

Q: Was ist "Thermal Throttle Control" (Temperatur-Drossel-Kontrolle)?

>'Throttle' ist die Möglichkeit der CPU zwischen Leerlauf (idle), und voller Last (bei sehr hohen Frequenzen (Hunderten von Khz)) umzuschalten. Diese CPU-Umstellung für das System senkt die Arbeitsrate der CPU und und führt zur Energieeinsparung.
Mit der Hmonitor PRO License, können sie diese Technik für die Stabilität ihres Systems nutzen. Hmonitor wird automatisch in einen bestimmten Drosselungslevel gehen, wenn die CPU oder die Systemtemperatur über einen gegebenen Wert kommt, und senkt die Drosselung bzw. geht zurück zur vollen Geschwindigkeit, wenn die Temperatur wieder einen niedrigen Wert erreicht hat. Sie können die Temperaturwerte, als auch die Drosselungslevel im Opionsmenü von Hmonitor einstellen.

Q: Was ist die "MainBoard Thermal Throttle Control", und wie unterscheidet es sich von der "CPU Thermal Throttle Control"?

Beide erreichen dasselbe: die CPU erhält einen virtuellen, niedrigen Takt und läuft dadurch kühler. Der Unterschied zwischen den beiden Throttle-Control-Typen ist einfach die Auswahl der Sensoren, welche die Drosselungen hervorrufen sollen. In den meisten Fällen sollte das M/B nicht wärmer als 45°C, und die CPU nicht wärmer als 60C werden. Beide Komponenten würden 70 °C aushalten, aber warum sollte man sie so überlasten?

Q: Welcher Sensor ist der 'Beste' für die Thermal Throttle Control?

Dies hängt von ihren Systemeigenschaften ab; möglicherweise hat ihr System keinen CPU-Temperatursensor. In den meisten Fällen reicht es, die CPU Throttle Control auf 65°C zu setzen, um sicherzustellen, das diese teuere Komponente geschützt ist. Falls Ihr System mehrere Sensoren hat, ist es am Besten, wenn Sie als Drosselungssteuerung die CPU auswählen, denn sie kann von Hitze am meisten geschädigt werden und ist am teuersten zu ersetzen.

Q: Was ist die "Full throttle"-Steuerung?

Wenn Sie einen Wert unter 100% setzen wird ihre CPU-Clock auf den gegebenen Wert gesetzt. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel ein PIII/1000 Mhz System besitzen, und wenn Sie "50%" einstellen, würde Ihre CPU auf virtuellen 500 Mhz laufen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass 'Full Throttle' NICHT temperaturabhängig ist!

Q: Wer sollte weniger als "Full throttle (100%)" benutzen?

Benutzer, die ihre CPU übertaktet haben und deren System bei manchen Operationen instabil wird. Indem Sie 'Full-Throttle' auf unter 100% setzen, stabilisieren Sie das System. Falls Sie ein Softwareentwickler sind und die Performance auf langsameren PC austesten und optimieren wollen, kann dieses Feature für Sie ebenfalls sehr nützlich sein.

Frequently Asked Questions

GENERAL QUESTIONS

Q: What Operating Systems is Hmonitor compatible with?

Hmonitor was developed especially for Windows NT. Now it works well on all modern Windows systems, both x32 and x64: Windows NT4/2000/XP/2003/Vista/Win7/2008/Win8/2012.

Q: Hmonitor doesn't work on my system. All readings are 'XX'. Why?

Hmonitor reads data from some optional h/w chips, called "sensors". Most modern mainboards have these sensors installed. However, if your board have no such chips, Hmonitor is useless for you. There are some chips not supported yet. In addition, some boards have only M/b temp sensors installed whereas others have only CPU temperature sensor.

Q: How can I determine that my board contains any sensor chips?

Usually it clearly mentioned in the M/B manual, and monitored data can be seen on the BIOS screens.

Q: What sensor chips is Hmonitor compatible with?

There are several vendors and models of sensor chips in the market. Now, Hmonitor supports more then 180 sensor chip types, look into the docs for the list.

Some chips required additional customization of Hmonitor to read data from them. First of all, National LM80 chip should be explicitly selected in Settings window of Hmonitor to work. Look into mainboards list for additional information about particular board.

TEMPERATURE RELATED

Q: I can see only first (M/B) temp with Hmonitor. Why?

First, a lot of boards in the market are capable to measure only one "system" temp. Next, some vendors use non-standard CPU sensor address assignment. You can try to discover valid numbers in Hmonitor settings window. Also, consult mainboards list for additional information about particular board.

HDD TEMPERATURE RELATED

Q: After launching Hmonitor, I can not use XP Disk Management under Administrative Tools, all my IDE harddisks are not listed. Why?

Latest releases of Hmonitor are capable to display HDD drive temperatures from S.M.A.R.T. attributes. This option is enabled by default after installation, and have used monopoly access to the whole drives. This problem has been solved in the 4.1.2.3 release.

FANS RELATED

Q: All three fans RPM looked as 'xxxx'. Why?

First, You need to have fans with ability to read RPM data - so-called "3-wired" or "smart" fans. Next, these fans must be plugged into appropriate sockets on the mainboard for receiving this information by sensors chip. Not all sensor chips can monitor many fans; i.e. Genesys GL518 can read data from only two fans.

Q: I've bought new chassis fan with sense wire, but Hmonitor doesn't show it. Why?

There is a restriction of some (ie LM78/79) sensor chips. If you have relatively slow (says, 2500 RPM) fan for chassis, you should plug it into 1st or 2nd sockets only, else you won't see its RPM at all. All you need in this case to do is to interchange wires from another fan with this slow fan and change fan captions accordingly.

VOLTAGES RELATED

Q: Most voltages in Hmonitor marked as red, and have strange values. Why?

Unfortunately, not all vendors conform to the specification of sensor chip vendor, or plug voltages in a different order. One such vendor is QDI. Hmonitor has an option for correct voltage readings for some QDI models, consult mainboards list for additional information about particular board. For all other cases, you can simply disable the voltage panel by clicking on the red Hmonitor logo in the upper left corner of the Hmonitor panel, and unchecking "Voltages".

Q: What does Vaux mean for uni-processor systems?

Vaux may be set to monitor variety of voltages such as second CPU core, if any, or 1.5V for Pentium-II GTL BUS, 2.5V for clock generator and so on. This item depends on the application of motherboard vendor. You might need to adjust its nominal value in Hmonitor Settings window.

Q: Voltages seems to be correct, but Vcore and/or VIO voltages are in red. How can I correct that?

Various CPU types and MB models require different nominal voltages. For example, most P-IIs works with 2.0V core, whereas P5 requires 2.8-3.3V. All you need is to go to the settings window, and set right nominal values for Vcore and, possibly, for VIO voltage, because VIO can be varied from 3.3 to 3.6 v for some MB models.

EVENT HANDLING

Q: I'm very care about my system integrity. How can I shutdown it when any critical event occurs?

Hmonitor has several options to inform you about various events and can launch external application if event occurs. For example, if you wish to shutdown your system when CPU fan is occasionally stopped or CPU temp increased higher than red level limit, you can create shutdown.bat containing just one line:

for Windows 95/98/ME: RUNDLL32.EXE User,ExitWindows
for Windows XP/2003/Vista:shutdown.exe -s -t 0

And specify its name in the Execute field for both CPU fan and CPU temperature lines. Also, you can use any of the shutdown utilities available on the Net for this purpose, i.e. Poweroff, freeware written by Jorgen Bosman. You can download it here.

TEMPERATURE CONTROL (PRO LICENSE NEED)

Q: What is "Thermal Throttle Control"?

Throttling is the ability of the CPU to change between stop (idle), and full speed modes, at very high frequency (hundreds of kilohertz). This CPU switching looks (to the system) as a decrease in the working frequency of CPU, and leads to lower power consumption.
With Hmonitor Pro license, you can use this technology to improve stability of your system. Hmonitor will enable specified throttle level if CPU or system temperature becomes higher than defined threshold, and return system back to full speed when temperature decreased below low threshold. You can specify Temperature bounds and throttling level in Settings window.

Q: What is M/B "Thermal Throttle Control", and how does it differ from CPU "Thermal Throttle Control"?

Both accomplish the same thing: the CPU receives a virtual lower clock frequency, and therefore runs cooler. The difference between the two type of throttle control is simply in the selection of which sensor is used to trigger the throttle condition. In most installations, the M/B should not exceed 45C, and the CPU 60C. Both components will tolerate 70C, but why stress them that much?

Q: Which sensor is the "best" for thermal throttling?

That depends on your specific configuration; your system may have no CPU sensor. For most, setting CPU Throttle Control to 65C will ensure that this expensive component is protected. If your system has multiple sensors, it is still probably best to trigger from the CPU sensor since it's the component which is most easily damaged by heat, and the most expensive to replace.

Q: What is "Full throttle" control?

Selecting a value less than 100% effectively cuts your system CPU clock to the selected percentage less than 100. For example, if you have a PIII/1.0 Ghz system, and you have selected "50%", your CPU would run at a virtual 500 Mhz. Note that this throttling is NOT temperature dependent.

Q: Why would anyone use less than "Full throttle (100%)"?

Users that have overclocked their systems may find that they are unstable under CPU intensive operations. By adjusting the throttle to less than 100% of the clock frequency, system stability maybe enhanced. If you are involved in software development, and want to approximate the performance of a less powerful machine, this feature would also be useful.